California Internet Resources
- AllLaw State Resources - California Directory of law-related web resources.
- California Bar Journal The State Bar of California's official publication. Issues from 1996 to current year.
- California Roster Directory of California's legislative, judicial, and executive officials. Includes contact information for local, state, and federal officials.
- Findlaw California Comprehensive, commercial site with links to some Supreme Court and Court of Appeals cases, codes and statutes and court information.
- League of California Cities Contains information about cities in California including: incorporation dates, county seats, population, municipal codes, and etc.
- POST Library Contains law enforcement history and issues, archival materials, information about medical examiners, coroners, dispatchers, and other emergency services.
- Welcome to California (California's official site) Portal providing access to state and local agency websites as well as statistics about the state.
- Witkin Legal Institute Includes recent developments in California law and some search strategies.
Laws and Legislative Information
- Official California Legislative Information Maintained by the Office of the California Legislative Counsel, this site is an excellent source of information about California legislation and enacted laws.
- Bills (and resolutions and constitutional amendments)
Search by session, house of origin, bill number, author or keyword (1993 to present). Includes the full text, status, history, analysis and any available veto messages.
Search by keyword or browse the table of contents for a specific article.
Search by keyword or browse the table of contents for a specific code.
- Legislative Index
Subject matter index of legislative bills from the current legislative session.
Search by keyword, chapter number or chapter year to view California laws chronologically. Available from 1993 to present.
- Table of Sections Affected
Index of the sections of the constitution, codes and uncodified laws affected by current legislation.
- California Ballot Propositions Database (Hastings)
Searchable database of ballot text.
- California Elections and Voter Information Page (Elections Division Home Page)
Text of ballot initiatives, election results and general voter information.
- California Law Revision Commission
The site includes the minutes, recommendations, and staff memorandums of the Commission since 1995.
- California State Assembly
Provides information on assembly members and the Assembly Daily File.
- California State Senate
Information on current senators, a searchable database of current Senate and Assembly legislation, and committee information.
- Legislative Analyst's Office
Nonpartisan agency providing fiscal and policy advice to the legislature. Includes the LAO's analysis of ballot propositions and a searchable database of LAO publications.
- Senate Office of Research
This bipartisan office develops public policy initiatives for the Senate. The site includes ballot proposition analyses and legislative highlights.
Courts, Forms, and Court Rules
Regulations and Administrative Information
Legislative Intent & History