Local LGBT Resources
The Billy DeFrank LGBT Community Center
The Billy DeFrank LGBT Community Center opened its doors on March 1, 1981 in a two-room storefront on Keyes St. in south downtown San Jose. A year earlier, the DeFrank Center's founders had watched with concern as Santa Clara County residents voted to repeal ordinances extending housing and employment protections to lesbians and gay men.
The Diversity Center (Santa Cruz, CA)
We are dedicated building a diverse community, promoting health and well-being, and advancing social justice for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex, and questioning individuals and their allies in Santa Cruz County.We provide safe space for visitors. Everyone who enters is welcome, treated with respect, and assisted in the best way possible by one of our dedicated staff or volunteer hosts.
LGBT Legal Associations
Founded in 1980, BALIF is the nation's oldest and largest bar association of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, and transgendered persons in the field of law. BALIF members and supporters include San Francisco Bay Area judges, lawyers, law students and legal workers.
The National LGBT Bar Association
The National Lesbian and Gay Law Association (NLGLA) is a national association of lawyers, judges and other legal professionals, law students, activists, and affiliated lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender legal organizations. NLGLA promotes justice in and through the legal profession for the LGBT community in all its diversity.
Lesbian & Gay Lawyers Association (Los Angeles)
In exercising their strength as a Bar Association, their mission is to provide a strong leadership presence of and for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgendered persons in the legal profession and in the community at large, through education, legal advocacy, and participation in political and civic activities and social functions.
Santa Clara Law: EQ|SCU
A student group at Santa Clara University School of Law.
Santa Clara County Bar Association (Rainbow Committee)
Seeks to promote full and equal participation in the profession by gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgendered attorneys and to provide educational forums to eliminate homophobia in the courts and the workplace.
Transgender Law Center
At the Transgender Law Center, we work with community members and allies to make California a state in which we can all fully and freely express our gender identities. On our site, you'll find one of the nation's most comprehensive collections of resources on transgender law, information about our innovative projects, and tons of other stuff.
Sylvia Rivera Law Project
Home › About
* About SRLP
* Collective Structure
* Prisoner Advisory Committee
* Jobs & Internships
* Who Was Sylvia Rivera?
The Sylvia Rivera Law Project (SRLP) works to guarantee that all people are free to self-determine their gender identity and expression, regardless of income or race, and without facing harassment, discrimination, or violence.
LGBT Archives and Historical Societies
These archives are great sources for historical LGBT materials that are difficult, if not impossible, to find elsewhere. However, searching an archive is typically not very user-friendly as their mission tends to focus on preservation, rather than access. Because of this, we recommend you speak with a librarian at the reference desk if you needing to find archival materials. Frequently, the archive must be contacted personally to determine what is in their collection.
ONE | National Gay & Lesbian Archives
The ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives houses the world's largest research library on Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual,and Transgendered heritage and concerns.
LGBT Archives - Western Reserve Historical Society
The mission of the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Archives is to foster greater understanding of the region’s LGBT history by documenting the lives of Northeast Ohio’s LGBT residents and organizations and their contributions to our community. We collect and preserve the papers, documents, photographs, oral history interviews, and memorabilia of LGBT individuals, organizations, institutions, and businesses in Northeast Ohio. These materials are available to researchers.
Canadian Lesbian & Gay Archives - CLGA
The CLGA was founded in 1973 as part of The Body Politic, Canada's gay liberation newsmagazine of record during the 1970s and 80s. A hidden gem in Toronto, it has grown from just a few boxes of material to become the second largest LGBT archive in the world. Within our archives are the stories that illuminate contemporary queer life.
GLBT Historical Society (San Francisco, CA)
The Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual Transgender Historical Society (GLBTHS) collects, preserves, and interprets the history of GLBT people and the communities that support them. We sponsor exhibits and programs on an on-going basis.
LGBT Religious Archives Network
The LGBT Religious Archives Network (LGBT-RAN) is an innovative venture in preserving history and encouraging scholarly study of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) religious movements around the world.
LGBT Civil Rights Organizations
Human Rights Campaign
The Human Rights Campaign is America's largest civil rights organization working to achieve lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) equality. By inspiring and engaging all Americans, HRC strives to end discrimination against LGBT citizens and realize a nation that achieves fundamental fairness and equality for all.
Lambda Legal is a national organization committed to achieving full recognition of the civil rights of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, transgender people and those with HIV through impact litigation, education and public policy work.
American Civil Liberties Union
The LGBT Project fights discrimination and moves public opinion through the courts, legislatures and public education across five issue areas: Relationships, Youth & Schools, Parenting, Gender Identity and Expression and Discrimination in Employment, Housing and other areas.
National Center for Lesbian Rights
The National Center for Lesbian Rights is a national legal organization committed to advancing the civil and human rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people and their families through litigation, public policy advocacy, and public education.
International Gay and Lesbian Human Rights Commission
The International Gay and Lesbian Human Rights Commission (IGLHRC) is a leading international organization dedicated to human rights advocacy on behalf of people who experience discrimination or abuse on the basis of their actual or perceived sexual orientation, gender identity or expression.
Since it was founded in 1998, Equality California has strategically moved California from a state with extremely limited legal protections for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) individuals to a state with some of the most comprehensive civil rights protections in the nation.
These blogs do not have an exclusive focus on LGBT legal issues. Regardless, they are often invaluable in following recent legal developments. Frequently, these popular blogs report on LGBT legal events before mainstream media outlets.
Joe. My. God.
Gay culture, short stories, politics, and fabulous disco trivia.
More gay guys get news, politics, entertainment and more on Towleroad than any other gay site.
The Bay Area Reporter Online
Bay Area Reporter is San Francisco's oldest and largest local newspaper of record serving the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender communities. Founded in 1971, B.A.R. is regarded for its original writing covering news and entertainment relevant to our lives. B.A.R. is published every Thursday by Benro Enterprises, Inc. and is distributed in San Francisco and surrounding cities of the Bay Area, as well as 20 other US cities.
Dallas Voice : The Community Newspaper for Gay and Lesbian Dallas
Dallas Voice, founded in 1984, is a newspaper for the gay community in Dallas, Texas (USA), and the greater North Texas metropolitan area. New issues are published on Fridays, with a circulation of 20,000 papers per week in Dallas, Tarrant, Collin and Denton counties. The paper claims a print readership of over 50,000 weekly readers, and over 70,000 unique monthly readers of its online version.
San Francisco Bay Times
The San Francisco Bay Times is a free weekly LGBT newspaper in San Francisco, California that started as COMING Up! in October 1979 as "the gay lesbian newspaper and calendar of events for the Bay Area."
Southern Voice - Your Source for LGBT News!
Southern Voice (commonly known as SoVo) is a lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender newspaper in Atlanta, Georgia and the Southeast United States. Launched as an independent publication in 1988, it was later part of Window Media which published multiple gay-oriented newspapers in the United States. It focused mainly on global and regional political issues concerning LGBT persons.
Heafey Law Library Research Team