Using the Witkin Treatises

This guide introduces the four Witkin Treatises for researching California law.

California Evidence

California evidence, 5th ed. (2012)
with annual supplements

The first three volumes of California evidence contain eleven chapters, listed below. Volume 4 contains the subject index and tables for the other three volumes, which do not have individual tables of statutes, code citations, etc. California evidence is available on both LexisNexis and Westlaw. The treatise is also indexed in the combined Witkin index on Westlaw. 

In the front of each volume, there is a brief table of contents for the four volumes and a table of abbreviations used throughout the treatise. Individual volumes have a detailed table of contents for that volume only. Each chapter begins with a detailed outline.

Volume 4 includes tables for the three preceding volumes. There is also a parallel reference table, which enables thre reader to determine where citations to the 4th edition will appear in the 5th edition of the work.

Each volume of California evidence contains an individual annual supplement, published as a pocket part. The supplement for Volume 4 is an updated subject index and tables for all of that year's supplements.

Volume 1
I.      Introduction

II.     Judicial notice

III.    Burden of proof and presumptions

IV.   Circumstantial evidence

V.    Opinion evidence
VI.   Hearsay

Volume 2
VII.  Demonstrative, experimental, and scientific evidence
VIII. Documentary evidence
IX.   Witnesses

X.    Discovery

Volume 3
XI.    Presentation at trial

Volume 4
Table of cases

Table of code citations
Table of constitutions
Table of rules, forms, and instructions
Table of fourth and fifth edition sections
Chapter Outlines

Heafey Law Library Research Team