Family Wealth Management

This guide contains information about estate planning and the tax ramifications of family wealth.

Introduction

This guide focuses on Estate Planning aspects of wealth management, including the tax ramifications.

The Heafey Law Library provides a variety of print and electronic resources for students studying this area. In the California Collection, materials are shelved at KFC188 (trusts), KFC195 (estate planning), KFC201(wills). In the general collection, estate planning materials are found at KF750; estate and gift tax materials at KF6571 and following.

Secondary sources are recommended as a first step when you are researching this and other new areas of the law. You will also find treatises on Wills, Trusts, Estate Planning, and Estate and Gift Taxation in the law library's print collection, and on Lexis and Westlaw.

Current provisions of the Internal Revenue Code, the Code of Federal Regulations, and IRS revenue rulings and procedures are most readily available via electronic databases to which the law library subscribes: CCH Intelliconnect, RIA Checkpoint, Bloomberg Law, Lexis, and Westlaw.

OSCAR Searches

Use OSCAR, the SCU Library Catalog, to locate estate planning materials. 

OSCAR Subject Searches

  • Estate Planning -- [United States]
  • Esate Planning -- [California]
  • Inheritance and Transfer Tax --
  • Trusts and Trustees --
  • Wills --
  • Power of Attorney --

OSCAR Call Number Searches

  • KF750 to KF755
  • KFC188 to KFC201
  • KF6571 and ff.


Note the location in OSCAR records. Materials in Remote Storage tend to be older. Materials in Compact Shelving are frequently duplicate titles, with the original in the California Collection.

Electronic and print materials are both included in OSCAR.

Journal Literature

The law library subscribes to some journals which focus on estate planning; e.g.:


Both Lexis and Westlaw include articles from many U.S. law reviews and journals. You can use LexisAdvance, lexis.com, or Westlaw to perform searches. You can limit your searches to periodicals which focus on estate planning or search U.S. (and Canadian) law reviews, which contain articles on estate planning and on many other topics. 

The HeinOnline law journal library includes the text of most U.S. law reviews. You can select which journals to search or search across the full library.

The law library also subscribes to several legal periodical indices, including the Index to Legal Periodicals, a bibliographic database. If you find a relevant citation in ILP, use the Journal Finder -- on the law library home page -- to find out if SCU subscribes to the cited journal in print or electronic format.

If you need help searching for relevant articles or locating cited materials, please contact Research Services in person, via phone (408 554-4452), email (lawref@scu.edu) or chat with a librarian (at http://law.scu.edu/library).

Profile

Research Services
Contact:
408-554-5320
Website / Blog Page