Cuban Legal System: Contemporary Issues

This guide is for students researching Cuban Law.

Searching Westlaw for Articles about the Cuban Legal System

On Westlaw, Cuba is not one of the jurisdictions included under the heading International Materials. However, many Secondary Sources on Westlaw include information about Cuba. To search for articles:

Select Secondary Sources from the Content Tab and:

Search = ti(cuba! and (law or legal))

Substitute more precise terms for "law or legal" to locate results more germane to your research: cuba! and child!, cuba! and trade, cuba! and jud!, etc.

You can also construct a general search (e.g., Cuban law) in All Content on WestlawNext, then narrow your results with filters (e.g., Secondary Sources).

Searching Lexis for Articles about the Cuban Legal Systme

On lexis.com, look for Law Reviews & Journals under the heading Secondary Legal. Select a grouping of journals, such as U.S. & Canadian Law Reviews, Combined.

Search = Title(Cuba! and (law or legal))

Substitute more precise terms for "law or legal" to locate results more germane to your research: cuba! and child!, cuba! and trade, cuba! and jud!, etc.


The same kind of search -- title(cuba! and ______) -- can be used in Lexis Advance, then click on the tab for Second[ary Sources] to limit/filter results.

You can also construct a broad search on Lexis Advance, such as Cuba and law or legal system, then click on the tab for Second[ary Sources] to limit/filter results.

You can also select Secondary Materials as a Content Type before performing a search.

Searching Hein Online for Articles about the Cuban Legal System

The Hein Online Law Journal Library contains pdf files of most U.S. law reviews. It can be accessed through OSCAR. Off campus, you will need to sign onto the SCU network to access Hein Online.

Once connected to the Law Journal Library, you can search all titles together or select individual titles for searching. Simple and Advanced Searches are available.

An advanced search for "Cuba" in article title produces hundreds of articles. Use the left-hand column to limit by date, country of publication, etc.

Searching SSRN for Articles about the Cuban Legal System

The Legal Scholarship Network (LSN) on SSRN.com includes the full text of many recent articles. Some articles have already been published in U.S. law reviews. Some are available free online via law school digital repositories.

A search of LSN titles and abstracts for "Cuba" results in a listing of more than 200 articles. Most are in English; some are in Spanish.

Using Periodical Indices to Locate Articles about Cuba

The Law Library subscribes to several databases which index periodical legal literature. The following will probably be most useful to your research:

The Index to Legal Periodicals and the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals are primarily bibliographic databases. They provide you with citations to relevant articles. Using the citations, you can then look for the full text of those articles on Lexis, Westlaw, or Hein Online.

Use the Journal Finder, on the law library home page, to determine whether Santa Clara subscribes to the periodical in which the article appears. You can make an ILL request for articles which are not available on campus.

vLex

vLex Global is a subscription database. To access the database, go to the OSCAR record for vLex and click on connect to vLex online. From off campus, you will need to sign onto the SCU network to access vLex Globa.

Once connected, look for the Shortcuts box in the right-hand column.

Click on Browse by Country; then click on All under the heading Central America, South America and the Caribbean and select Cuba from the list.

Alternatively, you can click on Advanced Search from the Shortcuts box and select Cuba from the pull-down menu of Jurisdictions.

The materials you find will be in Spanish. The vLex database provides legislation, cases and additional materials for many other countries, but currently the materials for Cuba are limited to Books and Journal articles.

Searching University Library Databases for Information about Cuba

The Santa Clara University library subscribes to a number of databases which are available to law students, faculty and staff. These databases cover subjects such as news, business, and political science. On the University Library website, you can browse databases grouped by subject or in an alphabetical list.

  • Searching Access World News for the phrase Cuban Law in Headline produces a few hundred news articles, some dating back to the 1980s.
  • Searching ProQuest Congressional for CRS Reports with Cuba in the Title produces recurring reports about Cuba. The Most Rencent, from January 2014 is entitled Cuba: U.S. Policy and Issues for the 113th Congress.

Research Librarians at the Law Library and at the University Library can help you select databases which may be valuable for your research and help you search for information on them.

Heafey Law Library Research Team