Westlaw and Lexis
Westlaw and Lexis are the premier electronic legal subscription research services. You will most likely use one or both of these services extensively to conduct legal research at some time in your law career. Both Westlaw and Lexis offer an immense collection of primary and secondary materials, covering all 50 states, federal, and international jurisdictions.
As a SCU Law Student you are provided complimentary access to many of the sources provided by Westlaw and Lexis. You are provided access instructions by email in the first weeks of your first year in law school. If you have any problems accessing these electronic subscription research services, please stop by the Law Library's Information Services Desk or contact a librarian at lawref@scu.edu or call (408)554-4452.
Bloomberg Law
Bloomberg Law is another major electronic subscription legal service. It offers an extensive collection of primary and secondary law materials, with an emphasis on news. While Tort Law is not a listed practice area with secondary legal sources on Bloomberg Law, you can search primary law sources to locate laws, legislation, court opinions, etc. related to Tort Law.
Again, as a SCU Law Student you are provided complimentary access to many of the sources provided by Bloomberg Law. You are provided access instructions by email in the first weeks of your first year in law school. If you have any problems accessing these electronic subscription research services, please stop by the Law Library's Information Services Desk or contact a librarian at lawref@scu.edu or call (408)554-4452.
CEB (Continuing Education of the Bar)
CEB is an electronic subscription service provided by the University of California. It offers only California primary and secondary sources. It's secondary practice materials are well-known and extensively used by California practitioners; CEB includes California Tort Law treatises.
Again, as a SCU Law Student you are provided complimentary access to many of the sources provided by CEB. You are provided access instructions by email in the first weeks of your first year in law school. If you have any problems accessing these electronic subscription research services, please stop by the Law Library's Information Services Desk or contact a librarian at lawref@scu.edu or call (408)554-4452.
HeinOnline
HeinOnline is another premier electronic research subscription service that provides you access to many multidisciplinary periodicals, essential government documents, international resources, case law, and more. It's periodical collection is especially strong and an excellent place to search for articles beyond those available via Westlaw, Lexis, Bloomberg Law, and CEB.
A complete list of all the HeinOnline databases that are available to you as an SCU Law student may be found at https://lawguides.scu.edu/c.php?g=5742&p=25191.
Again, as a SCU Law Student you are provided complimentary access to many of the sources provided by HeinOnline. If you have any problems accessing these electronic subscription research services, please stop by the Law Library's Information Services Desk or contact a librarian at lawref@scu.edu or call (408)554-4452.
Other Sources
The Social Science Research Network's (SSRN) Legal Scholarship Network (LSN) is a searchable collection of recent scholarship on a variety of legal issues, including those related to Tort Law.
The various Santa Clara Law journals as well as the recent scholarship of many Santa Clara Law professors are now available on our Digital Commons.
The Law Library contains many Criminal Law secondary sources in print format. Generally, you may find them in the open stacks starting at call letter KF9219. California criminal materials can be found at call letter KFC1100. Older materials may also be found in remote storage at the University's main library.
The best way to locate print criminal law materials located at the Law Library or in remote storage is by searching OSCAR. You may also borrow materials located at other law schools and universities through the Interlibrary Loan and Link+ services.
If you have any problems locating materials, retrieving materials from remote storage, or making an interlibrary loan or Link+ request, please see the library staff at the Law Library's Information Services Desk or by contacting a librarian at lawref@scu.edu or calling (408)554-4452.