LAW 218: International Organizations

This guide is for students enrolled in Professor Toman's International Organizations class.

The United Nations Website

The United Nations website -- www.un.org -- is available in all six official languages of the United Nations.

In addition to current news and general information about the United Nations, the website provides access to a wealth of UN documentation and research guides compiled by the Dag Hammarskjold Library. The Hammarskjold Library also responds to requests for additional information.

The UN Systems Chart provides insight into the breadth of activity conducted by the UN's principal organs, subsidiary organs, departments, specialized agencies and related organizations. Many of these organizations and agencies maintain their own websites with additional documentation and details about their work.

For additional information about the United Nations -- including the International Court of Justice and International Tribunals -- see the Mabie Research Guide on United Nations Documents.

For information about the United Nations Treaty Collection, see the Mabie Research Guide on World Treaties.

The United Nations Law Collection from Hein Online contains additional UN materials.

United Nations Materials in Print

Many United Nations documents, along with print materials about the UN, are available in both the Law Library and the Santa Clara University Library. OSCAR, the SCU library catalog, lists materials from both libraries. You can search OSCAR by title, author, subject, etc. The search results will include items in both libraries. So, be sure to check the location in an OSCAR record before you look for an item on library shelves.

Although both SCU libraries use the Library of Congress classification system, the University Library uses an older LC classification schema for UN materials (call numbers beginning with JX... for international law) than does the Law Library (call numbers beginning with JZ... for international relations or KZ... for law of nations). Both libraries may have the same item, but with different call numbers. For example,

New York : World Law Fund, 1966.

is available in both the Law Stacks
Location Call Number Circulation Status
 Law Stacks  JZ1308 .F35 1966  v.1     AVAILABLE
 Law Stacks  JZ1308 .F35 1966  v.2     AVAILABLE
 Law Stacks  JZ1308 .F35 1966  v.3     AVAILABLE


and in the University Library's Automated Retrieval System (ARS)

Location Call Number Circulation Status
 University Library ARS Main Stacks  JX1395 .F3  v.1     AVAILABLE
 University Library ARS Main Stacks  JX1395 .F3  v.2     AVAILABLE
 University Library ARS Main Stacks  JX1395 .F3  v.3     AVAILABLE


You cannot rely on the call number alone. Check the location in an OSCAR record before you go looking for an item on the shelf.

In the Law Stacks, the bulk of UN materials in print are shelved on the second floor above the California Collection (JZ...) or above the Open Reserve Room (KZ...).

United Nations Materials in Microfiche

The Law Library (and the University Library) also have many United Nations documents in microfiche. In the law library, the document collections and the print indices and finding guides that accompany them will have call numbers beginning with JZ or KZ. Any of the Mabie Research Librarians will be happy to show you how to use the microfiche readers to view and print UN documents. There is no charge for printing from microform reader/printers in the Law Library.

United Nations Collections in Other Bay Area Libraries

The University of California Berkeley and Stanford University are both United Nations Depository Libraries. Their government documents librarians respond to questions about UN documentation and make the contents of their collections available to the general public.

Heafey Law Library Research Team