Federal Statutory Research

This guide contains materials for locating federal legislative documents such as session laws, code sections, and other online resources.

Federal Internet Resources

General Sites

  • ABA's Lawlink The American Bar Association's online legal research homepage, with links to federal and state resources. 
  • AllLaw Directory of law-related web sites.
  • Federal Government Resources on the Web (Michigan)   
  • FirstGov Search over 40 million government documents using FirstGov's revamped search engine.  This page also includes a vast amount of subject-specific information about all levels of government and every federal agency.  Excellent starting point for statistical research.
  • FindLaw Free source for federal material arranged by subject.
  • Jurist Legal news and research produced by the University of Pittsburg School of Law.
  • LawGuru Legal questions, answers, and research for lawyers.
  • LexisOne Free service providing access to selected federal case law (registration required). 
  • MetaIndex for U.S. Legal Research  Searchable index can be used to locate federal judicial opinions, legislation, regulations, and other legal sources.
  • U.S. Court Forms Provides access to state and federal court forms (registration required).
  • U.S. Government Manual Furnishes contact information for legislative, judicial, and executive branches.


Legislative Information      

  • Congressional Universe Provides access to a wide range of federal legislative materials, including bills, congressional reports and testimony, and regulations. Available to SCU users only.
  • CQ Weekly Covers federal legislative news and analysis on a weekly basis (1983 to present). Available to SCU users only. 
  • GPO Access Databases 
    Comprehensive site for legislative information, including:
  • LLSDC´s Legislative Sourcebook (Law Librarian's Society of Washington, DC). Links to a wealth of federal legislative and regulatory research materials.
  • Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports CRS reports provide in-depth analyses on a variety of domestic and foreign policy topics.
    • University of North Texas Metadata has been created for each report, including subjects terms from the Legislative Indexing Vocabulary, supplemented with Library of Congress Subject Headings. Users have the ability to search by keyword, title, author, subject, and report number, and browse by subject.
    • WikiLeaks The 6,780 reports, current as of this month, comprise over 127,000 pages of material on some of the most contentious issues in the nation, from the U.S. relationship with Israel to the financial collapse. Nearly 2,300 of the reports were updated in the last 12 months, while the oldest report goes back to 1990. The release represents the total output of the Congressional Research Service (CRS) electronically available to Congressional offices.
    • OpenCRS Open CRS is a project of the Center for Democracy & Technology that serves as a centralized location to learn about the Congressional Research Service and search for CRS reports that have been released to the public by members of Congress.
  • Thomas
    Access federal legislation, committee documents, the Congressional Record, and roll call votes.
  • United States Code (Cornell LII)
    Lists all titles -- use the form to retrieve a specific title and section number.
    • Table of Popular Names This listing of common names for legislative acts links popular names to relevant code sections.


Court Opinions and Judicial Information


Regulations and Executive Information

Subject Guide