U.S. Treaties and International Agreements

Sources and finding guides for treaties to which the United States is a party.

Treaty Databases on Hein Online

 The Hein Online Treaties and Agreements Library contains a wealth of U.S. treaty material in .pdf format: official publications, unofficial publications, indexes and finding guides, selected books about treaties, and links to online treaty research guides. In addition to current treaty publications such as UST, TIAS, Senate Treaty Documents, and KAV Agreements (numbered as in Hein's microfiche set, United States Treaties and Other International Agreements), the Hein Online library contains .pdf copies of 18th through 20th Century U.S. treaty sources such as Bevans's Treaties and Other International Agreements of the United States of America 1776-1949, Miller's Treaties and Other International Acts of the United States of America, Malloy's Treaties, Conventions, International Acts, Protocols and Agreements, and Kappler's Indian Affairs, Laws, and Treaties.

Hein Online also includes major treaty indexes and finding guides: Treaties in Force, [Kavass's] Guide to the United States Treaties in Force, and [Kavass's] Current Treaty Index.

Westlaw and Lexis

The most inclusive U.S. Treaties database on Lexis.com is USTRTY. To access this and several other treaty databases from the Lexis.com directory, select: Legal > Area of Law - By Topic > International Law > Find Treaties & International Agreements. To access via the "Find a Source" feature, use the short name INTLAW;USTRTY.

To access U.S. treaties on Westlaw, select Federal Materials > Federal Administrative Decisions & Guidance > Department of State.

Westlaw and Lexis also contain treaties on specific topics such as Taxation.

Treaty Collections on the Internet

A variety of treaty collections are available on the Internet. Most are not limited to treaties to which the United States is a party. Congress.gov . is a federal web page with U.S. treaties. In addition, various government agencies include collections of treaties relevant to their work, such as the Department of Commerce, Department of Energy, and the United States Trade Representative. The U.S. State Department’s TIAS page contains treaties and other international agreements organized by year.

The Electronic Information System for International Law is a source of information about international treaties and agreements, organized by topic. The United States is a party to many of the agreements noted there.

The text of the North American Free Trade Agreement is available from the NAFTA Secretariat website. It is also included in the Lexis and Westlaw U.S. treaty databases. Other international organizations of which the United States is a member also have websites that link to treaty documents: 
www.un.org (treaties.un.org), www.wto.org, etc. 

Two good sources of human rights documents are the Minnesota Human Rights Library and Yale University’s Project Diana. Project Diana is part of the  Avalon Project at Yale, which is a good source of 18th and 19th Century treaties.

Heafey Law Library Research Team