U.S. Treaties and International Agreements

Sources and finding guides for treaties to which the United States is a party.

Print materials

United States Statutes at Large (Stat.), 1778 - 1949
Law Stacks, First Floor KF 50
Statutes at Large was the official publication for U.S. treaties before 1950. Volume 8, Part 2, of Statutes at Large contains a compilation of treaties entered into between 1778 and 1845. From 1846 until 1903, the publication of treaties was irregular. From 1931 to 1949, executive agreements and treaties were both included. Volume 64, Part 3, contains a cumulative index of all treaties and agreements published in Statutes at Large.

Statutes at Large is also available in the Hein Online U.S. Statutes at Large Library. Treaties from all of Statutes at Large are included in the U.S. treaty databases on LexisNexis (INTLAW;USTRTY) and Westlaw.

Treaty Series (TS)
Law Microforms KZ235.32 U54
Treaty Series pamphlets were first published in the 1800s. The Series included Executive Agreements as well as Treaties until the 1930s. Numbered pamphlets from 751 (1923) - 994 (1945) are available in the Mabie Law Library microfiche collection.
 
Numbered Treaty Series pamphlets from 491A to 892 are available in the Hein Online Treaties and Agreements Library.
Treaties and agreements published in the Treaty Series appear in the United States Statutes at Large and are reprinted in Bevans (below).

Executive Agreement Series (EAS)
Executive agreements were no longer published in the Treaty Series (above) after 1929. They instead appeared in the Executive Agreement Series, No. 1 (1929) through 506 (1945). In 1945, the TIAS replaced the EAS. The Executive Agreement Series, No. 1 through 81 (1935), is available in the Hein Online Treaties and Agreements Library. Executive agreements that appeared in EAS appear in the United States Statutes at Large and are reproduced in Bevans (below).

United States Senate, Senate Executive Documents, -- 1980
From 1946 - 1980, Senate Executive Documents contained the official text of treaties as transmitted to the Senate for advice and consent. In 1981, the title of this series was changed to [Senate] Treaty Documents. The Senate will not have consented to all of the treaties transmitted in Senate Executive Documents or Treaty Documents.


Unofficial treaty collections compiled by the U.S. State Department: 

Treaties and Other International Agreements of the United States, 1779-1949 (Bevans)
Law Stacks, Second Floor KZ 236 1968
This is a 13-volume set which contains U.S. Treaties before 1950, including those which were never published in Statutes at Large. Volumes 1-4 contain multilateral treaties and agreements which are listed by date of signature. Volumes 5-12 contain bilateral treaties and agreements arranged alphabetically by signatory country. Volume 13 is the index to the entire set organized by both country and subject.

Bevans is also available in the Hein Online Treaties and Agreements Library. Treaties that appear in Bevans appear in the U.S. Treaties database on Lexis (INTLAW;USTRTY), with parallel citations.

Treaties, Conventions, International Acts, Protocols, and Agreements Between the U.S.A. and Other Powers (Malloy)
Law Stacks, Second Floor KZ 236 1910
Malloy (1776-1937) is a four-volume set with its own index.

Treaties and Other International Acts of the United States of America (Miller)
Law Stacks, Second Floor KZ 236 1931
Miller (1776-1863) consists of eight volumes arranged chronologically. Although Miller has no index, volume 1 contains tables and lists of treaties included in the set. Only a brief provisional version of Volume 1 was ever published, and the Mabie Law Library does not have this "Short Print." However, Miller and Malloy are available in their entirety on the Hein Online Treaties and Agreements Library.

Special Treaty Collections

Unperfected Treaties of the United States of America, 1776-1976 (Wiktor)
Law Stacks, Second Floor KZ236 1776 .U56
This set contains treaties which were sent to the Senate but were not ratified. The U.S. was a signatory but the treaty never went into force for the United States. The treaty collection is annotated with analysis and legislative history.

Extradition Laws and Treaties, United States, 1776- (Kavass and Sprudzs)
Law Stacks, Second Floor K5443 A2 U683
This four volume set compiles operative extradition treaties. The treaties are arranged alphabetically according to the name of the country with which the U.S. has signed the agreement.

Indian Treaties, 1778-1842
Law Stacks, First Floor KF50
Volume 7 of the United States Statutes at Large, includes a collection of Indian treaties between 1778 and 1842. From 1843-1949, the treaties appear in individual volumes of the Statutes at Large.

Indian Treaties published in Volume 7 of the United States Statutes at Large are also included in the Westlaw U.S. Treaties database (USTREATIES). The Hein Online Treaties and Agreements Library includes Volume 7 of Statutes at Large and the 18th and 19th Century Indian Treaties published in Charles Kappler’s Indian Affairs, Laws and Treaties. Kappler’s series is also available at the Mabie Law Library in print and at the Santa Clara University Library

Tax Treaties (CCH), 1952-
Law Reserve KF6306 U552 (Stauffer Collection)
A loose-leaf service, this reporter reproduces the full text of U.S. bilateral income, estate and gift tax treaties, exchange of information, protocols, and other related documents on taxation agreements - all arranged alphabetically by country. Also includes model conventions (UN, U.S., OECD), official explanations, indexes, and finding aids. CCH’s Tax Treaties Reporter is also available on the CCH Internet Tax Research Network.

Lexis and Westlaw Tax Treaty Databases

  • Tax Analysts Worldwide Tax Treaties on a variety of subjects are available on Lexis (e.g., INTLAW;TAWTT). From the directory, select: Area of Law – By Topic > Taxation > Treaties and International Agreements.
  • Westlaw’s tax treaty databases are from the Research Institute of America (RIA) and Warren, Gorham and Lamont (WGL).

Heafey Law Library Research Team