U.S. Treaties and International Agreements

Sources and finding guides for treaties to which the United States is a party.

Appendix: Current Treaty Sources

Treaty/Agreement Source Bluebook Citation Indexes/Guides
U.S. Treaties and Agreements    
United States Treaties and Other International Agreements
Official; 1950 --
Law Stacks, Second Floor KZ235.3
x U.S.T. xxx Treaties in Force
[Kavass's] Guide to the United States
    Treaties in Force
United States Treaty Index: Consolidation
[Kavass's] Current Treaty Index
Treaties and Other International Acts Series
Official; Slip treaties; 1945 --
Law Microforms KZ235.32 U55
T.I.A.S. No. x Treaties in Force
[Kavass's] Guide to the United States
    Treaties in Force
United States Treaty Index: Consolidation
[Kavass's] Current Treaty Index
Senate Treaty Documents
Official; 1981 --
Law Microforms KF49 [S85]
(Congressional Information Service microfiche collection)
S. Treaty Doc.
No. x
ProQuest Congressional
C.I.S. Indexes and Abstracts
United States Treaty Index: Consolidation
[Kavass's] Current Treaty Index

90th Congress (1967) forward
THOMAS
94th Congress (1975) forward:
FDSys/GPO Access
Hein's United States Treaties and Other International Agreements, Current Service
1984 --
Law Microforms KZ235.3 H44
Hein's No.
KAV xxx
United States Treaty Index: Consolidation
[Kavass's] Current Treaty Index
World Treaties    
United Nations Treaty Series
Official; 1946 --
Law Microforms KZ172 U35
x U.N.T.S. xxx Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the
     Secretary General
AccessUN
Readex Index to United Nations
      Documents and Publications
United Nations Treaty Collection
International Legal Materials
1962 --
Law Stacks, Second Floor KZ64 I58
x I.L.M. xxx Available in print
Searchable on Westlaw, LexisNexis and Hein Online

Appendix: Historical Treaty Sources

Treaty/Agreement Source Bluebook Citation Indexes/Guides
U.S. Treaties and Agreements    
United States Statutes at Large
Official; 1778 - 1949
Law Stacks, First Floor KF50
x Stat. xxx 64 Stat. B1107; 18 Stat., Part 2 (List of Treaties, Index to Public Treaties); Available in .pdf format in the Hein Online U.S. Statutes at Large Library
Searchable U.S. Treaties on Lexis and Westlaw
Treaty Series (United States)
Official; 1778 - 1945; replaced by T.I.A.S. in 1945
Law Microforms KZ235.32 U54 (incomplete)
T.S. No. x Multilateral Treaties (Bowman and Harris)
Index to Multilateral Treaties (1963)

Executive Agreement Series
Official; 1922 - 1945; replaced by T.I.A.S. in 1945
EAS Nos. 1 - 506; Law Microforms KZ235.32 .U53

E.A.S. No.x

EAS Nos. 1 - 81 are available in Hein Online's Treaties and Agreements Library
Multilateral Treaties (Bowman and Harris)
Index to Multilateral Treaties (1963)

Senate Executive Documents
Official; 1778 - 1980
Included in the CIS collection; Law Microforms KF49 [S385] (1971 - )
S. Exec. Doc. x ProQuest Congressional 

C.I.S. Indexes and Abstracts (1971 - )

Treaties and Other International
Agreements of the United States of America
(Bevans)

1776 - 1949
Law Stacks, Second Floor KZ236 1968

x Bevans xxx

Bevans, vol. 13; Available in Hein Online's Treaties and Agreements Library
World Treaty Index (Rohn)
Multilateral Treaties (Bowman and Harris)
Index to Multilateral Treaties (1963)

Treaties and Other International Acts of the United States of America (Miller)
1776 - 1863
Law Stacks, Second Floor KZ236 1931


(no special citation given)
Available in Hein Online's Treaties and Agreements Library
Treaties, Conventions, International Acts, Protocols, and Agreements Between the United States of America and Other Powers (Malloy)
1776 - 1937
Law Stacks, Second Floor KZ236 1910
(no special citation given)

Chronological list, alphabetical index, and treaty table in volume 4; Available in Hein Online's Treaties and Agreements Library
Multilateral Treaties (Bowman and Harris)
Index to Multilateral Treaties (1963)

World Treaties

Bluebook
Citation

Indexes/Guides

League of Nations Treaty Series
Official; 1920 - 1945
Law Microforms KZ172 L43
x L.N.T.S. xxx Microfiche Index filed with the Treaty Series; Available (LNTS Database) as part of the United Nations Treaty Collection
World Treaty Index (Rohn)
Multilateral Treaties (Bowman and Harris)
Index to Multilateral Treaties (1963)
[Parry's] Consolidated Treaty Series
1648 - 1919
Law Stacks, Second Floor KZ120 P37
x Consol. T.S. xxx See Index-Guides shelved at the end of the bound volumes: chronological (vols 1-5); special chronological (vols. 1-2); part index (vols 1-5)

Heafey Law Library Research Team