U.S. Treaties and International Agreements

Sources and finding guides for treaties to which the United States is a party.

Finding Guides, Treaty Status Information

Use the following indexes and guides to locate treaties to which the United States is a party and to determine the current status of U.S. treaties:

Treaties in Force (TIF)
Law Stacks, Second Floor KZ235 T74
Issued annually by the U.S. State Department, this index lists U.S. treaties and agreements in force as of January 1 of each year. The first part lists bilateral treaties by country and then by subject; the second part lists multilateral treaties by subject and indicates the parties.

Editions of Treaties in Force since 1929 are available in the Hein Online Treaties and Agreements Library. Recent editions are available on Westlaw. The most recent edition is available on Lexis (INTLAW;USTIF). The most recent edition of Treaties in Force is also available at the U.S. State Department website.

[Kavass's] Guide to the United States Treaties in Force, 1982 -
Law Stacks, Second Floor KZ235 G84
This commercial index to U.S. treaties and agreements is in two parts. The first part lists treaties and agreements in force as of January 1 of the year in which the relevant edition was published. It also includes a combined subject index for both bilateral and multilateral treaties. The second part indexes multilateral treaties by country and also lists the treaties chronologically. A Guide to the United States Treaties in Force lists treaties published in Hein’s United States Treaties and Other International Agreements: Current Service and provides the KAV numbers used there. Editions of A Guide to the United States Treaties in Force from 1982 to the present are available in the Hein Online Treaties and Agreements Library. In 2008, the title of the publication changed from A Guide to the United States Treaties in Force to Kavass's Guide to the United States Treaties in Force.

CIS Indexes and Abstracts, 1971 –
Law Microform Reference KF 49 .C2
The Congressional Information Service (CIS) annual indexes list treaties considered by the Senate after 1970. Treaties are generally indexed by topic, under their individual names, and under the heading “Treaties and Conventions.” The CIS indexes provide access to Executive and Treaty Document series. Treaties included in the CIS microform set (1971 - ) can also be searched using the Proquest Congressional database. (This is separate from the LexisNexis law school subscription.)

United States Treaty Index: 1776 - Consolidation
Law Stacks, Second Floor KZ235.3 U58 1991
Volumes 1-5, of the United States Treaty Index are a Master guide (in numerical order) to TS, EAS, TIAS and the KAV series, plus additional documents (AD) without TS, EAS or TIAS numbers but included in Bevans, Miller and Malloy; vol. 6 of the United States Treaty Index is a chronological index, 1776-1972; vol. 7, is a chronological index, 1973-2001; vols. 8-9 contain a country index; vols. 10-11 the subject index; vols.12-13 a geographical subject index. Consolidation volumes are updated periodically and supplemented by the Current Treaty Index.

[Kavass's] Current Treaty Index
Law Stacks, Second Floor KZ235.3 U58 1991 Index
The Current Treaty Index is also available on the Hein Online Treaties and Agreements Library. In 2008, the name changed from Current Treaty Index to Kavass's Current Treaty Index.

[CCH] Congressional Index, 1963/64-
Law Reference KF49 C6
The Congressional Index is published for each congressional session. The tab in Volume 1 labeled "Treaties - Nominations" contains a list of the treaties pending before the Senate (waiting for consent by two-thirds of the Senate). Treaties appear in chronological order by the session transmitted and, since 1981, by the Treaty Document number. Check the subject index if neither the session transmittal date or document number is known. Listings include references to reports, hearings, etc.

Hein Online Treaties and Agreements Library
Use Hein Online to browse or search major treaty collections, publications and indexes.

Lexis and Westlaw U.S. Treaties Databases
U.S. treaty databases in both Lexis (INTLAW;USTRTY) and Westlaw include treaties from official and unofficial U.S. treaty sources. Parallel citations to official sources are provided when available.

Treaty Actions, State Department website
Recent issues (1997 - ) of Treaty Actions are available at the State Department website. This publication, which is currently available electronically only, provides information about recent treaty developments. In that respect, it serves the same purpose as two earlier, now-discontinued State Department publications: the Department of State Bulletin ( - 1989; KZ231 .U55) and the U.S. Department of State Dispatch (1990 – 1999; KZ231 .U552. The Dispatch is also archived on a State Department page.

U.S. Senate Website
The “Legislation & Records” link at the Senate website contains a “Treaties” link in the left-hand column which, in turn, links to information about treaties before the current Congress: “Treaties Received” by the current Congress, “Treaties Approved” by the current Congress, “Treaties Actions” by the Foreign Relations Committee, and “Treaties Reported” by the Foreign Relations Committee and awaiting floor action in the Senate. This Senate website also links to Thomas, which includes text and status information for treaties from the 90th Congress (1967) forward. The “Committees” link from the Senate’s main website links to the Senate Foreign Relations Committee.

U.S. Senate Committee on Foreign Relations
The “Treaties” link at the Foreign Relations Committee’s website leads to a periodically updated listing of pending treaties. Unlike legislation, treaties are carried over from one Congressional session to another.

Heafey Law Library Research Team