World Treaties

Sources and finding guides for treaties to which the U.S. may not be a party.

17th to 20th Century International Treaties

[Parry's] Consolidated Treaty Series , 1648 - 1919
Law Stacks, Second Floor KZ120 .P37
The series contains its own multivolume index.

Special Treaty Collections

Unperfected Treaties of the United States of America, 1776-1976 (Wiktor)
Law Stacks, Second Floor KZ236 1776 .U56 
This set contains treaties that were sent to the Senate but were not ratified. The U.S. was a signatory but the treaty never went into force for the United States. The treaty collection is annotated with analysis and legislative history.
Call Number & Location: KZ236 1776 U56 (Second Floor Stacks)

Extradition Laws and Treaties, United States, 1776- (Kavass and Sprudzs)
Law Stacks, Second Floor K5443.A2 U683
This four volume set compiles operative extradition treaties. The treaties are arranged alphabetically according to the name of the country with which the U.S. has signed the agreement.


Indian Treaties, 1778-1842
Law Stacks, First Floor KF50
Volume 7 of the United States Statutes at Large, includes a collection of Indian treaties between 1778 and 1842. From 1843-1949, the treaties appear in individual volumes of the Statutes at Large.

Indian Treaties published in Volume 7 of the United States Statutes at Large are also included on Westlaw.

The Hein Online Treaties and Agreements Library includes Volume 7 of Statutes at Large and the 18th and 19th Century Indian Treaties published in Charles Kappler’s Indian Affairs, Laws and Treaties. Kappler’s series is also available at the Mabie Law Library in print (KF8203 2004) and microfiche (KF209 .L39 C67 no. 98) and at the SCU University Library
 


Tax Treaties (CCH), 1952-
Law Open Reserve Room KF 6306 .U552
A loose-leaf service, this reporter reproduces the full text of U.S. bilateral income, estate and gift tax treaties, exchange of information, protocols, and other related documents on taxation agreements - all arranged alphabetically by country. Also includes model conventions (UN, U.S., OECD), official explanations, indexes, and finding aids. CCH’s Tax Treaties Reporter is also available on the CCH Internet Tax Research Network (Intelliconnect).

Lexis and Westlaw Tax Treaty Databases
Tax Analysts Worldwide Tax Treaties on a variety of subjects are available on lexis.com. From the directory, select: Area of Law – By Topic > Taxation > Treaties and International Agreements.

To access Westlaw’s tax databases, select the Practice Areas tab, then select Tax.

Heafey Law Library Research Team