Federal Regulatory History

General Sites

• ABA's Lawlink The American Bar Association's online legal research homepage, with links to federal and state resources. 
• AllLaw Directory of law-related web sites.
• Federal Government Resources on the Web (Michigan)   
• FirstGov Search over 40 million government documents using FirstGov's revamped search engine.  This page also includes a vast amount of subject-specific information about all levels of government and every federal agency.  Excellent starting point for statistical research.
• FindLaw Free source for federal material arranged by subject.
• Jurist Legal news and research produced by the University of Pittsburg School of Law.
• LawGuru Legal questions, answers, and research for lawyers.
• LexisOne Free service providing access to selected federal case law (registration required). 
• MetaIndex for U.S. Legal Research  Searchable index can be used to locate federal judicial opinions, legislation, regulations, and other legal sources.

• U.S. Court Forms Provides access to state and federal court forms (registration required).
• U.S. Government Manual Furnishes contact information for legislative, judicial, and executive branches.

Legislative Information      

• Congressional Universe Provides access to a wide range of federal legislative materials, including bills, congressional reports and testimony, and regulations. Available to SCU users only.
• CQ Weekly Covers federal legislative news and analysis on a weekly basis (1983 to present). Available to SCU users only. 
• GPO Access Databases 
  Comprehensive site for legislative information, including:
  • Bills (1993 to present).
  • Congressional Record Official record of the proceedings and debates of Congress (1994 to present). 
  • History of Bills and Resolutions (1983 to present).
  • Congressional Hearings (1997-98 session to present).
  • Congressional Reports (1995-96 session to present).
  • Analysis and Interpretation of the U.S. Constitution Annotations to U.S. Supreme Court cases; searchable by keyword.
  • Public Laws (1995-96 session to present).
  • U.S. Code  (2000 edition).
• LLSDC´s Legislative Sourcebook (Law Librarian's Society of Washington, DC). Links to a wealth of federal legislative and regulatory research materials.
• Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports CRS reports provide in-depth analyses on a variety of domestic and foreign policy topics.
  • University of North Texas Metadata has been created for each report, including subjects terms from the Legislative Indexing Vocabulary, supplemented with Library of Congress Subject Headings. Users have the ability to search by keyword, title, author, subject, and report number, and browse by subject.
  • WikiLeaks The 6,780 reports, current as of this month, comprise over 127,000 pages of material on some of the most contentious issues in the nation, from the U.S. relationship with Israel to the financial collapse. Nearly 2,300 of the reports were updated in the last 12 months, while the oldest report goes back to 1990. The release represents the total output of the Congressional Research Service (CRS) electronically available to Congressional offices.
  • OpenCRS Open CRS is a project of the Center for Democracy & Technology that serves as a centralized location to learn about the Congressional Research Service and search for CRS reports that have been released to the public by members of Congress.
• Thomas
  Access federal legislation, committee documents, the Congressional Record, and roll call votes.
  • U.S. Constitution  
• United States Code (Cornell LII)
  Lists all titles -- use the form to retrieve a specific title and section number.
  • Table of Popular Names This listing of common names for legislative acts links popular names to relevant code sections.

Court Opinions and Judicial Information

• Federal Judiciary Provides electronic access to all federal court Web sites and to federal rules of practice, procedure, and evidence.
• Federal Judicial Center The Federal Judicial Center is the education and research arm of the federal courts.  This site features guides to federal court operations, resources on courtroom technology, and a wide array of other educational materials for judges and attorneys. 
• Judicial Nominations  A very nice website created by the librarians at Yale's law school that has information about judicial nominations.  The site offers faceted-search, which is particularly helpful if you need to find a list of nominees by term, president, or year.
• U.S. Supreme Court (official Web site) Provides access to recent Court decisions, oral argument calendars and transcripts, and briefs.
• Supreme Court Database The Supreme Court Database is the definitive source for researchers, students, journalists, and citizens interested in the U.S. Supreme Court. The Database contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1953 and 2008 terms. Examples include the identity of the court whose decision the Supreme Court reviewed, the parties to the suit, the legal provisions considered in the case, and the votes of the Justices.
• Supreme Court Opinions (LexisOne) Searchable access to all U.S. Supreme Court cases from 1790 to present.
• U.S. Supreme Court Center Created as a joint effort by two commercial companies and Oyez.org, this page features a free searchable database of Supreme Court opinions as well as links to Supreme Court blogs and additional Internet court resources.
• U.S. Supreme Court Library (HeinOnline) PDF versions of cases from U.S. Reports from 1754 to 2002. Slip opinions from 2002 to present. SCU users only.
• U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit Includes links to opinions (1995-present), Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, local circuit rules, and court calendar.
• U.S. District Court, Northern District of California Includes opinions, forms, and local rules.
• United States Special Courts:  These Web sites usually feature electronic access to court rules, decisions, dockets, oral argument calendars, and forms.
  • Air Force Court of Criminal Appeals Provides access to selected decisions from the current calendar year.
  • Army Court of Criminal Appeals Provides access to selected decisions from 1996 to present.
  • Coast Guard Court of Criminal Appeals Provides flow chart of disposition of military cases as well as access to selected decisions.
  • Navy-Marine Corps Court of Criminal Appeals Provides access to selected decisions from past two years.
  • U.S. Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces Provides access to decisions from 1997 to present.
  • Court of Federal Claims Furnishes access to decisions from 1997 to present.
  • Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit (Emory) Furnishes searchable access to decisions from August 1995 to August 2001.
  • Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit (official Web site) Furnishes access to decisions from 2004 to present.
  • Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims Decisions from 1989 to present. 
  • Court of International Trade Furnishes access to decisions from 1999 to present.
  • Tax Court Furnishes access to decisions from 1995 to present.

Regulations and Executive Information

• ABA Administrative Procedure Database (Florida State) Provides links to federal and state administrative procedures acts and administrative law reform proposals. 
• Code of Federal Regulations Furnishes searchable access to federal regulations. Includes the List of CFR Sections Affected.
• e-CFR (Office of the Federal Register) This experimental government site provides electronic access to a currently updated version of the Code of Federal Regulations.
• Congressional Budget Office Furnishes information on federal government fiscal matters.
• Federal Register Features searchable access to volumes from 1995 to the current year. Includes proposed regulations, agency notices, and executive orders.
• Federal Register Library  (HeinOnline) PDF versions of Federal Register volumes from 1936-2000. Available to SCU users only.
• FedForms (U.S. government) Provides access to federal forms by agency, form number, or alphabetical listing.
• Government Accountability Office (GAO) Formerly known as the Government Accounting Office, this federal agency generates reports and testimony on a wide variety of federal policy, regulatory, and legislative matters.
• Principal Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Contacts (DOJ) Provides contact information for FOIA contacts at major federal agencies.
• U.S. Federal Government Agencies Directory  (Louisiana) Features an alphabetical listing of federal government agencies.
• Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
• White House Home Page
  Major presidential speeches and addresses, press releases, and briefings.
  • Executive Orders Executive orders issued by President Obama from January 2009 to present.
  • Executive Orders Disposition Tables (NARA)
    Lists disposition of executive orders from Franklin D. Roosevelt's administration to present.  Features Federal Register citations for each executive order and PDF versions of orders from 1993 to present.