The American Bar Association's online legal research homepage, with links to federal and state resources.
Directory of law-related web sites.
Search over 40 million government documents using FirstGov's revamped search engine. This page also includes a vast amount of subject-specific information about all levels of government and every federal agency. Excellent starting point for statistical research.
Free source for federal material arranged by subject.
Legal news and research produced by the University of Pittsburg School of Law.
Legal questions, answers, and research for lawyers.
Free service providing access to selected federal case law (registration required).
MetaIndex for U.S. Legal Research
Searchable index can be used to locate federal judicial opinions, legislation, regulations, and other legal sources.
U.S. Court Forms
Provides access to state and federal court forms (registration required).
U.S. Government Manual
Furnishes contact information for legislative, judicial, and executive branches.
Covers federal legislative news and analysis on a weekly basis (1983 to present). Available to SCU users only.
GPO Access Databases
Comprehensive site for legislative information, including: Bills (1993 to present); Congressional Record Official record of the proceedings and debates of Congress (1994 to present); History of Bills and Resolutions (1983 to present); Congressional Hearings (1997-98 session to present); Congressional Reports (1995-96 session to present); Analysis and Interpretation of the U.S. Constitution Annotations to U.S. Supreme Court cases; Public Laws (1995-96 session to present); U.S. Code (2012 edition).
LLSDC's Legislative Sourcebook
(Law Librarian's Society of Washington, DC). Links to a wealth of federal legislative and regulatory research materials.
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
CRS reports provide in-depth analyses on a variety of domestic and foreign policy topics.
Provides access to a wide range of federal legislative materials, including bills, congressional reports and testimony, and regulations. Available to SCU users only.
Access federal legislation, committee documents, the Congressional Record, and roll call votes.
United States Code (Cornell LII)
Lists all titles -- use the form to retrieve a specific title and section number.
Court Opinions and Judicial Information
Provides electronic access to all federal court Web sites and to federal rules of practice, procedure, and evidence.
Federal Judicial Center
The Federal Judicial Center is the education and research arm of the federal courts. This site features guides to federal court operations, resources on courtroom technology, and a wide array of other educational materials for judges and attorneys.
A very nice website created by the librarians at Yale's law school that has information about judicial nominations. The site offers faceted-search, which is particularly helpful if you need to find a list of nominees by term, president, or year.
Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals
Provides video streaming of en-banc hearings.
U.S, Supreme Court
(official Web site) Provides access to recent Court decisions, oral argument calendars and transcripts, and briefs.
Statistics on the Federal Courts
(USCourts.gov) Provides statistical data on the business of the federal Judiciary. Specific publications address the work of the appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts; the probation and pretrial services systems; and other components of the U.S. courts.
Supreme Court Database
The Supreme Court Database is the definitive source for researchers, students, journalists, and citizens interested in the U.S. Supreme Court. The Database contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1953 and 2008 terms. Examples include the identity of the court whose decision the Supreme Court reviewed, the parties to the suit, the legal provisions considered in the case, and the votes of the Justices.
Supreme Court Opinions
(LexisOne) Searchable access to all U.S. Supreme Court cases from 1790 to present.
U.S. Supreme Court Center
Created as a joint effort by two commercial companies and Oyez.org, this page features a free searchable database of Supreme Court opinions as well as links to Supreme Court blogs and additional Internet court resources.
U.S. Supreme Court Library
(HeinOnline) PDF versions of cases from U.S. Reports from 1754 to 2002. Slip opinions from 2002 to present. SCU users only.
U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
Includes links to opinions (1995-present), Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, local circuit rules, and court calendar.
Regulations and Executive Information
Heafey Law Library Research Team