Free Legal Research Services

Particularly useful portions of the website include: the Electronic Information System for International Law (EISIL), the ASIL Electronic Resource Guide (ERG), and electronic publications such as Insights. Click on Resources/Pubs, eResources -- Insights and other E-Publications

Features many international law research guides (as well as foreign and comparative law materials)

Arranged by subject, links to many additional international law sites

Links to an array of research guides and foreign and international law Internet resources -- arranged by subject

Contains periodicals and cases dealing with international law.

This interactive online tutorial teaches students research strategies and methodologies for successful international law research.

Contains international as well as foreign citations; searchable by title and abbreviation

The UN Treaty Series, League of Nations Treaty Series, Status of Treaties (an electronic version of Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary General)

Includes U.S. treaties from the 90th Congress forward (1967- ).

Includes links to the most recent Treaties in Force, as well as other useful sources, including Treaty Actions and Treaties Pending in the Senate.

Treaty citation information and links to reliable online text

Provides links to the full text of treaties and other international legal materials frequently cited in scholarly articles.

Treaties are categorized by year and subject.

Founding treaties, accession treaties, consolidated texts

Texts of treaties as well as explanatory reports.

Database of multilateral conventions arranged by subject and chronologically [No longer being updated]

Features full-text versions of selected legal and historical documents, including charters, treaties, and more.

Mulitlateral environmental treaty data.

Includes a library of treaties, agreements, national legislation, and court decisions relating to environmental law.

Summaries of environmental law cases from domestic and foreign jurisdictions.

A large collection of human rights materials, including treaties, UN documents, bibliographies, research guides, and refugee resources.

This website includes the Treaty Bodies Database linking to the text of majory UN human rights treaties and to the committees monitoring complicance with them.

Features breaking news about a wide range of human rights issues.

Human rights organization with information from around the world, but focus on Latin America.

Contains documents in English and Spanish adopted by the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights since its first session in 1960.

Links to books, articles, databases and additional materials.

Covers selected human rights topics with a focus on Europe.

Official website of the ICC. Includes the full text of the Rome Statute of the ICC.

Extensive compilation of Internet resources for all three courts.

Research guide includes a wealth of useful links to legal materials regarding war crimes.

Includes text of cases, judgments, and other legal documents relating to the tribunal's functioning.

Includes case status updates and a library with links to legal documents relating to the tribunal.

The Special Court for Sierra Leone was set up in 2002 and transitioned to a residual mechanism in 2013.

Features digital collection of photographs and documents from several of the Nuremberg trials.

Links to International Criminal Courts and tribunals.

A section of the website is devoted to War and International Humanitarian Law, including the full text of the Geneva Conventions.

Armed Conflicts, War and Peace.

Search the United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods.

Statistics and, in the Law Library, legal texts from various jurisdictions on several business topics.

(U.S. Census Bureau)
Provides foreign trade guides, export forms, notices about regulatory developments, and detailed statistics.

This site includes trade agreements and information on selected trade topics.

Provides a variety of links and resources relating to international trade and the major bilateral and multilateral international trade agreements, including FTA, NAFTA, and GATT/WTO.

Research guide features Internet sources of information on the harmonization of international commercial law, particularly contract law.

Frequently consulted portions of the website include Documents Online (Reports, dispute settlements, background papers), Regional trade agreements, and Legal Texts (including the GATT 1947 and GATT 1994 agreements)

Provides access to UN documents via Official Documents of the United Nations (ODS), which provides full-text access to a wide range of UN documents, and through the United Nations Bibliographic Information Service, a searchable catalog of UN documents from 1979 to present, with some full-text documents available. Older documents are being gradually added to the catalog.

Provides access to text of the ICJ's official judgments, advisory opinions, and orders in English and French.

Describes the different kinds of UN documents and explains how to find them.

Research guide explains how to find information about UN officials, documents, organizations, and issues.

Database allows searches of treaties by popular name, title, and/or keyword.

Official website of the European Union.

Official web site of the Council of Europe, with links to the Council of Europe Treaty Office and the European Court of Human Rights.

Covers EU-United States relations and current events.

Thorough coverage of EU materials.

Excellent introductory guide to the EU -- includes a bibliography and references to additional research guides.

Links to the European Journal of International Law and the European Research Papers Archive.

Includes links to the European Journal of Legal Studies and full text of various EUI publications.

Repository of materials on European integration and unification. Includes official E.U. documents.