Free Legal Research Services

Arranged alphabetically by country, links to relevant research guides, gazette, Library of Congress country studies, and information on selected metapages.

Links to the official Web sites of foreign governments.

An extensive bibliography of primary and secondary sources from countries throughout the world (SCU Law subscription).

Large collection of foreign law research guides and tools.

Government Gazettes Online (Univ. of Michigan)
An effort to list all online government gazettes

The Guide to Law Online links to constitutions of world nations and to executive, judicial, and legislative information when available.

Assorted guides for researching foreign law; scroll down to the heading Foreign Law Research.

Collection of primary and some secondary sources from 14 Legal Information Institutes throughout the world, including the Legal Information Institute at Cornell (see Law by source: Global).

This guide discusses strategies and techniques for Canadian legal research and for finding and using secondary sources.

The goverment's official site has links to Parliament, Canadian courts, and more.

Searchable database of Canadian case law, statutes, and regulations

In Chinese; an English language version links to executive, legislative, judicial and administrative sites.

In both Chinese and English; contains a wide variety of Chinese legal materials, including statutes, cases, and secondary sources. (SCU Law subscription).

Includes links to legal materials from mainland China, Taiwan, and Hong Kong. Also includes research guides on Chinese law.

The guide includes links to Internet resources on Chinese law in both English and Chinese.

Chinese Law Prof Blog (Don Clarke, Law Professor, George Washington Univ.)

Guide to locating primary and secondary materials.

In EU official languages; links to EU Institutions, EU legislation, the Official Journal and Institution registers.

Covers EU-United States relations and current events.

Thorough coverage of EU materials; accompanied by a briefer Cite-Checkers Guide.

Excellent introductory guide to the EU -- includes a bibliography and references to additional research guides.

Links to the European Journal of International Law and the European Research Papers Archive.

Includes links to the European Journal of Legal Studies and full text of various EUI publications.

Repository of materials on European integration and unification. Includes official E.U. documents.

Selected national law of EU members states.

Legislation from countries on selected human rights topics, often translated into English. Emphasizes human rights legislation from European countries.

In French.

A site in French, featuring searchable databases of French law; some English translations of important French codes.

Dated, but an extensive guide, with information about print sources as well as internet links.

Recently revised guide, with links to many online sources.

Collection of almost 1,000 translated judicial decisions and statutes from France, Germany, Italy, Austria, and Israel.

Manupatra Includes information, news, annual reports and legal materials for a variety of subjects (including Arbitration, Company law, Human Rights, Environmental law and Intellectual Property). It also includes case laws of the Supreme Court and High Courts of India across all subjects, orders of tribunals and commissions, Central Bare Acts (including various States Acts) and rules, regulations, schemes and orders.

Korea.net, an English language gateway with government information

Gazette (Kwanbo, or Gwanbo), in Korean.

Hi, Korea! for foreigners.

Web site includes links to primary legal sources and other sources of Korean law on the Internet.

A recent guide which covers both online and print sources.

In Spanish; links to federal laws and to the executive, legislature, and courts; links to state governments and laws.

In Spanish; links to legislation and jurisprudence.

Includes links to guides to Mexican law from the U.S., Mexico, and international organizations.