Free Legal Research Services

ABA Section of Intellectual Property Law Contains proposed legislation and a section of IP links of potential interest.

The site has a selective collection of IP links.

General information on patents and trademarks including tips on searching.

Canadian Intellectual Property Office Home to searchable databases for patents, trademarks, copyright, and industrial design.

Intellectual Property Links Official gazettes, case law, regulations, IP publications, and much more.

Lists links to IP organizations, journals, and primary authorities.

A comprehensive IP site with introductory and in-depth IP material.

Copyright, patent and trademark information. Contains WIPO Lex, a search facility for national laws and treaties on intellectual property (IP) of WIPO, WTO and UN Members and WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center which contains the text of WIPO arbitration and mediation rules and procedures and additional publications relating to international alternative dispute resolution.

The site includes links to statutes, opinions, treaties, conventions and links to IP internet sites.

Comprehensive source for copyright information including links to international material.

Includes links to legislation, regulations, federal register notices and information circulars.

Provides free patent searching of U.S. and European patents and U.S. patent applications.

Includes primary sources and other references for patent law, including international sites.

Legal Information Institute – Trademarks (Cornell) Comprehensive source for trademark law, including links to federal and state materials.

Provides patent and trademark information to inventors, researchers, and corporations.

Patent Information on the Internet LLRX.com's electronic pathfinder to sites for patent research.

Includes applicable manuals, searchable databases, notices, forms and fee information.

ABA Section of Intellectual Property Law Contains proposed legislation and a section of IP links of potential interest.

The site has a selective collection of IP links.

Recent copyright and IP statutes and cases, news, issues related to scholarly publishing, and news.

Copyright Clearance Center Useful information on how to obtain copyright permission, license published works, etc.

Find legal texts (case law, regulations) as well as official publications of the EPO.

Provides access to legal briefs, articles, reports on legislative developments, and other useful materials.

Anything Under the Sun Made By Man Russ Krajec is a registered patent attorney, engineer and inventor with over 20 United States patents.

Written by an appellate, intellectual property and technology lawyer.

Provides daily law and technology news with links to reliable primary and secondary sources on topics including: e-government, privacy, government documents, cybercrime and ID theft, the Patriot Act, freedom of information, federal legislation, legal research, KM, blogs, RSS and wikis.

A law blog (blawg) of Anthony Cerminaro focused on biotech, bioengineering, bioinformatics, genomics, biometrics, and other biotechnology.

Provides free tools that let authors, scientists, artists, and educators easily mark their creative work with the freedoms they want it to carry. You can use CC to change your copyright terms from "All Rights Reserved" to "Some Rights Reserved."

Dennis Kennedy is a well-known lawyer, consultant, speaker and writer who is considered among the most influential experts on the application of technology in the practice of law.

EFF: Deep Links Electronic Frontiers Foundation's RSS feed.

Focused on technology law, policy, and innovation.

Very popular tech news website.

Mostly news with a focus on copyright law and intellectual property issues.

The focus is on issues related to legal regulation of technology, and especially on legal attempts to restrict the right of technologists and citizens to tinker with technological devices.

A production of the Berkman Center for Internet & Society. The Berkman Center for Internet & Society is a research program founded to explore cyberspace, share in its study, and help pioneer its development. Greplaw's goal is to create a frequently updated, highly interactive forum for the dissemination and discussion of legal news concerning information technology.

A very popular IP news website.

Trademarks, Copyright and the Internet, by Mark V.B. Partridge, Partner, Pattishall, McAuliffe, Newbury, Hilliard & Geraldson LLP, Chicago, Illinois.

Information Management and Librarian Blog with a communications media and technology law slant from Scott Vine.

Legal developments involving the Internet and new technologies.

Intellectual property news affecting business and everyday life.

Popular tech news website.

Latest IP Headlines from ag-IP-news Agency ag-IP-news Agency, is a pilot project that has been exclusively established to cover Intellectual Property news, events and activities.

News about search engines, databases, and other information collections.

This Web site's reference page has useful links to a wide variety of technology and IP law-related sites, including IP and tech law blawgs.