General Legal Internet Resources - Cases, Statutes & Codes
The following is a selection of general resources. For additional resources, select the navigation links to the right.
Avalon Project at Yale Law School Archive
This site features full-text versions of selected legal and historical documents, including charters, treaties, presidential speeches, and executive orders.
Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
This online reference resource allows you to identify abbreviations for English language legal publications. Use this resource if you encounter a legal citation in your research and can't identify the full name of the periodical or source from the citation.
Cornell Legal Information Institute
Key resource for primary legal materials as well as for commentary and background material on a wide array of legal topics.
Large collection of original essays, images, and primary documents from a selection of the most famous trials, from Socrates to O.J. Simpson.
FindLaw: Cases and Codes
Provides free, searchable access to federal and state case law and statutes.
Jurist (Univ. of Pittsburgh)
This Jurist page includes links to online copies of selected federal and state cases, statutes, and regulations. Also includes links to oral arguments and briefs from selected federal and state courts.
Public Library of Law
Cases from the U.S. Supreme Court and Courts of Appeals, all 50 states back to 1997, federal statutory law and codes from all 50 states, regulations, court rules, and constitutions.
General Legal Internet Resources - Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
General Legal Internet Resources -Lawyer and Law Firm Directories
General Legal Internet Resources - Legal News
Jurist's Paper Chase
Breaking legal news, including international developments, with many useful links to primary documents and in-depth reports.
Wide-ranging coverage of substantive legal issues as well as legal practice. Also includes links to popular legal blogs (blawgs) and online versions of legal magazines, including National Law Journal, American Lawyer, and Corporate Counsel.
General Legal Internet Resources - Research Guides
Appellate Court Briefs Online (LLRX)
Comprehensive guide to accessing appellate briefs online, with information on retrieval from free Internet sources, Lexis, and Westlaw.
Hosted by the New York University School of Law. Contains a number of research guides and articles on international, comparative, and foreign legal research.
Law and Policy Institutions Guide
Furnishes links to a wide range of law-related Internet resources. Legal topics are organized by subject area.
This Web site furnishes a large selection of research guides, legal research articles, and legal forms.
General Legal Internet Resources - Search Tools & Legal Subject Directories
This directory includes links to online primary materials (cases, statutes, and regulations) as well as links to a broad array of secondary materials, such as articles and government reports.
A directory of domestic, foreign, and international law Internet sites, arranged by subject and region.
Comprehensive collection of domestic and international legal resources.
Librarians' Index to the Internet
This site features a legal subject index that includes links to a wide variety of online legal resources.
Heafey Law Library Research Team