Free Legal Research Services

Index to the UN documents including Official Records, draft resolutions, and the UN Treaty Series citations.

Current news and information for federal, state, estate and gift, business entity, payroll and pension information.

Includes full-text, searchable access to scholarly working papers, reports, policy briefings, and conference proceedings on international affairs.

The website of the National Advertising Division of the Better Business Bureau. Contains National Adverstising Division (NAD) Case Reports, NARB Panel Reports, CARU Case Reports, and NAD/CARU/NARB Procedures.

Expert commentary on timely current issues.

Includes legislative news, analysis, and the full text of all articles published since 1983.

The English Reports reprint, 1220-1865, was issued in 178 volumes, 1900-32 and is in general a straight reprint in which the original footnotes are given. Notes in square brackets have been inserted, as required, above the head-notes, giving reference to Mews' Digest of English Case Law, while in some instances editorial notes in square brackets have been added.

The European Centre for Minority Issues (ECMI) conducts practice-oriented research, provides information and documentation, and offers advisory services concerning minority-majority relations in Europe. It serves European governments and regional intergovernmental organizations as well as non-dominant groups in the European area.

Fastcase’s libraries include primary law from all 50 states, as well as deep federal coverage going back to 1 U.S. 1, 1 F.2d 1, 1 F.Supp. 1, and 1 B.R. 1. The Fastcase collection includes cases, statutes, regulations, court rules, and constitutions. Fastcase also provides access to a newspaper archive, legal forms, and a one-stop PACER search of federal filings.

Contains volumes between 1936-current.

Covers volumes from 1936-2007. Also includes weekly compilations of presidential documents from 1965-present.

The Foreign and International Law Resources Database (FILRD) allows researchers to browse online through some of the world's best international law publications.
Foreign Relations of the United States The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series, produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian, comprises more than 350 volumes of resourceful historical information.

Provides access to a wide range of legal periodicals and other legal documents in PDF format (list of sources available here).

The History of Bankruptcy includes legislative histories, treatises, documents and more related to bankruptcy law in America. It also includes classic books dating back to the late 1800s and links to scholarly articles that are related to the study of bankruptcy in America.

Contains more than 2 million pages of legislative histories, treatises, documents, classics, and more relating to copyrights, patents, and trademarks.

Contains cases and journals dealing with international law topics.

International Treaties and Agreements includes official and unofficial treaty publications, treaty guides and indexes, and secondary sources on treaties.

Includes the complete run of the Israel Law Reports which provides access to more than 220 cases in an online digital format. Also includes access to the Israel Law Review, Volumes 1-42 (1966-2009).

Covers forensic psychiatry, medical jurisprudence, and related subjects. Contact a reference librarian for a password.

Contact a reference librarian for a password.

Find legal information, lawyer blogs (blawgs), statutes, cases, lawyers, and legal news.

Law Journals includes ABA, criminal justice, core U.S., non-U.S., and international law journals.

Legal Classics includes Blackstone's Commentaries and other classics of legal literature.

A database containing scholarly working papers and articles recently accepted for publication.

Comprehensive database of legal materials and selected news and business sources.

Full-text database of federal and state laws, newspapers, and magazine articles.

Contains a wide variety of Chinese legal materials, including statutes, cases, and secondary sources.

A cooperative of law libraries that have digitized legal materials. Includes federal and state case reporters, U.S. Statutes at Large, foreign case law, Canadian case law, UK statutes and case reporters, Blackstone, state session laws, and lots of other historical materials.

Primary legal materials, case law, and secondary sources. Requires password for access.

Derived from two essential reference collections for historical legal studies, the Nineteenth Century and Twentieth Century Legal Treatises microfilm collections, The Making of Modern Law features a fully searchable database of more than 21,000 Anglo-American legal works including casebooks, local practice manuals, form books, works for lay readers, pamphlets, letters, speeches and more.

A fully searchable digital archive of about 1,350 individual titles and over 1.8 million pages. Of interest to law libraries and historians of American history, and designed to complement Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926, it is sourced chiefly from the Lillian Goldman Law Library at Yale University.

Describes the courtroom dramas that rocked society in America, the British Empire and the world. This new collection — the third installment in the Making of Modern Law series — boasts more than 10,000 titles and nearly two million pages of fully searchable content from the law libraries of Harvard and Yale as well as The Library of the Bar of the City of New York.

The Manual of Patent Examining Procedure (MPEP) is a manual published by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) for use by patent attorneys and agents and patent examiners. It describes all of the laws and regulations that must be followed in the examination of U.S. patent applications, and articulates in detail their application to an enormous variety of different factual situations.

Includes information, news, annual reports and legal materials for a variety of subjects (including Arbitration, Company law, Human Rights, Environmental law and Intellectual Property). It also includes case laws of the Supreme Court and High Courts of India across all subjects, orders of tribunals and commissions, Central Bare Acts (including various States Acts) and rules, regulations, schemes and orders. .

This database lists titles that reprint the laws and regulations of other countries. Searchable by jurisdiction or subject.

Opinions of the Office of Legal Counsel of the United States (Department of Justice) (1977-1996)

Contains Oxford reports on international law in domestic courts, Oxford reports on international courts of general jurisdiction, Oxford reports on international criminal law, Oxford reports on international human rights law.

Through special arrangement with the International Law Students Association (ILSA) the Jessup collection in HeinOnline provides access to all of the top moot court competitions since 1960. In addition, several publications of ILSA are also available. Bound volume subscribers of the Moot Court Competition Compendium receive complimentary online access to this HeinOnline collection, while for others access is available on an annual subscription basis.

Excellent source of information for Congressional materials, including House and Senate committee reports and hearings.

PLI PLUS is Practising Law Institute’s research database which provides electronic access to the full collection of PLI Press publications. Included are treatises, form books, and CLE course handbooks

Contains a number of databases dealing with taxation, economic policy, pension regulation, and insurance.

Includes governmental session laws (Canada & U.S.); and session laws of all 50 U.S. states, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands, arranged alphabetically by name of state or territory, and within that arrangement chronologically by date of session.

Contains important decisions of the Supreme Court which includes the Court of Appeals and the Court of Criminal Appeals.

Derived from two essential reference sources. For the period 1832 (when printed Court records began) through 1915, the documents are based primarily on the holdings of the Jenkins Memorial Law Library, America’s first law library, located in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. For 1915-1978 the source is the Library of the Association of the Bar of the City of New York, a nationally recognized research facility and the single largest member supported law library in the United States.

U.S. Attorney General Opinions (1791-1982)

Includes the official text of the United States Codes from 1934 onward.

The Legislative History Title Collection is a collection of full-text legislative histories on some of the most important and historically significant legislation of our time. In addition to major complete legislative histories this collection includes texts related to legislative histories.

HeinOnline's U.S. Presidential Library includes such titles as Messages and Papers of the Presidents, Public Papers of the Presidents, CFR Title 3 (Presidents), Weekly Compilation of the Presidential Documents, and other documents relating to U.S. presidents.

Contains volumes from 1789-2005 (Vols. 1-119).

U.S. Supreme Court Reports includes opinions from 1754 to 2002, U.S. Reports slip opinions from 2002-present, and selected periodicals about the Supreme Court.

The U.S. Congressional Documents Collection features the bound and daily versions of Congressional Record, its three predecessor titles, and other important congressional material. For the Congressional Record, there is a conversion utility to convert page numbers from the daily version into the page numbers found in the bound edition.

This collection contains exact reproductions of major United Nations legal publications, including the complete collection of the United Nations Treaty Series, the League of Nations Treaty Series, the Monthly Statement of Treaties & International Agreements, UNCITRAL Publications, UNIDIR Publications, the United Nations Legislative Series and much more.

Search for UN treaties by popular name, title, and/or keyword.

A searchable full-text database of global legal information with some documents and publications exclusive to the vLex platform. vLex offers case law, legislation, and other legal materials for nearly 100 countries, with a particular focus on jurisdictions in Central America, South America, and Europe and provides a multilingual interface that facilitates searching through legal information from other countries.

Comprehensive database of legal materials and selected news and business sources.

This collection contains such famous and important works as John Lawson's "American State Trials," "Howell's State Trials," "Law Reports of Trials of War Criminals," "Reports of State Trials" and "Sixty Famous Cases." Also included is the full trial collection from Cornell University Law Library, one of the most complete collections in the United States.