Search Tools - Search Engines
Yahoo-owned search engine allows you to search by domain name (for example, URLs ending in ".edu" or ".org"), by file format (Word or PowerPoint files) or for multimedia materials (audio or video files).
Use the advanced search menu to perform Boolean searches or to limit by date, location, or language. Also features a translator.
Ask.com is particularly strong with general reference resource.
Microsoft-owned search engine that includes web searching, image searching, video searching, and a map function. Competes with Google.
This meta search engine allows you to search several different search engines simultaneously, including Google, Yahoo!, and Ask Jeeves.
Exalead provides thumbnail previews of the target pages along with the results, and allows advanced refining on the results page (language, geographic location, file type, categories) but also further data refinement, such as rich content (audio, video, RSS) and related terms.
It aims to be an efficient search engine alternative to its larger competition, being able to store a large number of cached pages on a given server.
Best tool for retrieving high-quality, relevant results. Advanced search menu allows you to search by file type, domain name, or topic. Google News features continuously updated news stories from global sources. Google Blog Search allows you to search blog content.
Both a search tool and a portal to the Web.
A meta search engine combining results from the Web's leading search engines.
A search engine that allows users to find selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies. Also features a subject directory of different scientific categories (for example: "Agriculture & Food," "Computers & Communication," "Environment & Environmental Quality...")
A meta-search engine. Enter a URL in the search box to find out which Web sites and blogs are linking to that site. An excellent starting point for company research.
Offers searchable access to blog content.
Organizes your search results into different subject categories for easy browsing.
Find books, journals, videos, and magazines in a library near you using this fast and simple search engine.
Provides helpful subject directories; known for its excellent images database. Phil Bradley's guide to search engine selection, "Finding Information: Search Engines," is an excellent resource for researchers who need some pointers on selecting the best search engine for a particular search.
Search Tools - Subject-Specific Tools
A comprehensive business directory.
Legal portal with access to federal, state, and local legal resources.
A comprehensive directory of official federal, state, and local government court links.
Scholarly Internet resources; developed by UC librarians.
Internet Legal Resource Group
A categorized index of thousands of legal Web sites.
Indexes law-related Web sites. Produced by FindLaw and powered by Google.
WWW Virtual Law Library
Browse law-related Web sites by topic or source.
Search Tools - Directories
A collection of links to the "hidden Web." Compiled by Gary Price
Librarians' Index to the Internet
Subject directory of more than 10,000 Internet resources selected and evaluated by librarians. Includes law topics.
Open Directory Project
A human-edited directory of the Web with over 460,000 subject categories.
Comprehensive directory of Internet sites. Good for general searches and for browsing topics. See also Yahoo!'s new streamlined search interface.
Heafey Law Library Research Team