General Reference
- American RhetoricA collection of famous speeches by political, religious, and cultural public figures in full-text, audio, and some audio-visual formats.
- Bartleby.comA collection of reference tools, including style guides, thesauri, dictionaries, and sources for quotations.
- Findarticles.comA free database of recent articles and newswires.
- Infomine (UC Riverside)Scholarly internet resource collections, arranged by topic.
- Information Please AlmanacSource for broad range of facts. Also includes an online encyclopedia and dictionary
- Law Librarians' "Ask the Librarian" ServiceA live information service provided by public law librarians. Good for general legal information or for pointers to additional sources.
- Librarian's Index to the InternetA well-organized point of access for reliable, trustworthy, librarian-selected Internet resources
- LibrarySpotLinks to a broad range of information sources: almanacs, dictionaries, encyclopedias, statistics, style guides, etc.
- Literature Resource Center (Gale Group)Features literary criticism and bibliographies, author biographies, Internet links, and more.
- Merriam-Webster OnlineIncludes an (unabridged) dictionary and thesaurus
- SCU's undergraduate library database directoryIf you're looking for non-legal materials, you may want to start with SCU's undergraduate library database directory.
Business Reference Cites
- Big ChartsThis site features financial data and industry analyses as well as breaking market news and commentary.
- Gethuman DatabaseSearchable database that provides consumers with the fastest way to bypass automated customer service phone systems.
- Hoover's OnlineSCU students and faculty can access the premium version of Hoover's Online through Orradre's business databases page.
- OANDA, The Currency SiteProvides current and historical foreign exchange information.
- Search SystemsDatabase and directory of public records sources on the Internet.
- Universal Currency ConverterPerforms conversions for every known currency
- Zillow.comProvides estimates of real property values for all 50 states.
Databases
- Databases on the WebThe university’s collection of online databases, including business and science resources. Available only to SCU faculty, staff and students.
Other Libraries
- Orradre LibraryOrradre Library SCU's main campus library. Use Orradre's journal finder to determine whether the periodicals that you need for your research are available at SCU libraries.
- Other Libraries On the WebOther Libraries On the Web Orradre's selected list of other academic, law, and public libraries' Websites. Includes links to Santa Clara County and San Jose City Public Libraries.
Statistics
- State and County Quick Facts (U.S. Census Bureau)Find national, state and county statistics.
- Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics (SUNY Albany)Find statistics on criminal justice agencies, public attitudes about crime, nature and distribution of known offenses, demographic information about arrested individuals and inmates, and judicial processing of defendants.
Translators*
While these Web translators can be useful to get a general sense of the meaning of foreign text, they are not sensitive enough to furnish reliable translations of complex texts, such as legal documents. All of the Web sites listed below translate Web pages as well as manually typed text:
- Babel FishAvailable languages for translating to and from English: Chinese (traditional and simplified), Dutch, French, German, Greek, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish.
- FreeTranslation.comAvailable languages for translating to and from English: Dutch, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish.
- Google Language ToolsAvailable languages for translating to and from English: French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
- SystranAvailable languages for translating to and from English: Arabic, Chinese (traditional and simplified), Dutch, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and Swedish.
- WorldLingoWorldLingo (Web site translator can be found here.) Available languages for translating to and from English: Chinese (traditional or simplified), Dutch, French, German, Greek, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese (Brazil), Russian, and Spanish.
Local News and Weather
- San Francisco ChronicleSF Chronicle content, breaking AP news, and more.
- San Jose Mercury NewsToday's headlines and articles from the past seven days. For articles from 1985 onwards, see link on the Newsbank database.
- The Weather ChannelLocal, national, and international weather forecasts.
