Free Legal Research Services

The following materials published by Bureau of National Affairs (BNA) throughLexis, Westlaw, or by going directly to the BNA website: Antitrust and trade regulation report; Electronic commerce & law report; International trade reporter; Securities regulation and law report.

Securities, Trade Regulation, Government Contracts, Public Utilities, Information Technology, Federal Agency Guidelines, Transportation Law, Banking, Products Liability and Safety. (on campus access only)

Complete details on federal, state and international tax issues as well as tax news, research and software. (on campus access only)

Search documents relating to international trade and the United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (CISG).

Search documents relating to international trade and the United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (CISG).

Search or browse the full text of a retrospective collection of business, economics, and finance journals.

The "Research Tasks" page provides subject access to treatises, case law, statutes, and Internet resources.

Link to the business search form for news, accounting literature, company information, directories, and more.

Information on California businesses, economics and public policy issues.

Search and download research papers and working documents on negotiations, finance, economics, and related fields.

Use the News & Business tab to search global, regional, or local news sources, company and financial information, directories, and more.

The federal government offers this legal resources page for small businesses, which provides links to materials on intellectual property, employment law, franchising, business structures, and eCommerce.

The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) maintains a free searchable database of international and domestic companies' SEC filings. This website includes a tutorial on searching EDGAR.

Includes extensive resources on federal enforcement of antitrust laws within different industries.

This IRS page has information tailored for businesses.

Includes links to the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, economic reports, and information about U.S. trade policies and statistics.

The Public Documents section features full-text versions of DOJ appellate briefs, policy documents, speeches, and more. The Case Filings section features selected antitrust case files from 1994 - present.

This agency regulates the offer and sale of securities, franchises, and off-exchange commodities in California, and the agency Web site contains a variety of resources concerning securities offerings in the state.

Furnishes a wide array of information about taxation of business entities in California.

The California Business Portal page provides information on formation and governance of business entities and UCC document filings.

This multi-state database of antitrust case law and settlement agreements allows you to search criminal litigation, civil litigation, or both.

Bankruptcy from Martindale provides an array of resources for law students and legal support personnel. Visitors have access to free peer-reviewed legal articles focusing on bankruptcy law and an FAQ answered by leading lawyers.

Provides breaking financial and business news.

This University of Missouri-Columbia research institute features a searchable database of over 25,000 contracts from a wide array of industries and business transactions.

This LexisNexis site offers articles on the latest news from the corporate sector.

Furnishes in-depth articles on a wide range of corporate law issues, including corporate governance, unfair competition laws, intellectual property, and more.

In most states, the secretary of state regulates business entities. This Web site includes links to the secretary of state offices in each state.

The University of Cincinnati College of Law maintains this Web site, which provides the text of the basic federal securities laws and regulations and links to a variety of other securities-related resources.

Covers China business laws, regulations, and taxation information.

California corporations laws, securities rules and releases.

Includes some of CEB's most popular titles on business, estate planning, and real property practice.

Journal of Law and Economics (University of Chicago Law School)