1L Guide on Property

This guide is for One Ls enrolled in 2013-2014 Property Law classes

What Stacks?

Don't be confused by the location "Law Library Stacks." (Look in the OSCAR record, left-hand column, for Location.) Most of the library consists of Stacks.

The Library of Congress call numbers for Property Law materials begin at about KF560, which is on the second floor, above the California collection.

Treatises

Treatises are books. Some may be 10 or 20 volumes long with separate indices and supplements.

Two major treatises on Property Law can be found in Open Reserve (the Stauffer Collection) on the first floor of the law library. Others will be in the second floor stacks. The oldest treatises will be in Remote Storage. The Library of Congress call numbers for all will be KF560 and ff. Here are some treatises in the stacks which you may find helpful:


Treatises on California property law are shelved in the California Collection. Browse the shelves at KFC140 and ff. or search the law library catalog by call number

This is a link to an online listing of Legal Treatises on Real Property from UC Irvine.

Legal Encyclopedias

There are two major U.S. legal encyclopedias:

The law library stopped updating the print copy of CJS in 2009 but continues to update AmJur2d.

Both encyclopedias are available electronically on Westlaw.

There is also a California Legal Encyclopedia -- California Jurisprudence (CalJur), now in its third Edition -- in the California Collection on the first floor of the law library, KFC80 .C29. CalJur is also available on both Westlaw and LexisNexis.

 

Restatements

The original Restatements were begun by the American Law Institute in the 1920s, as an effort to explain and organize common law holdings. They have been supplemented and revised ever since. The following are Restatements related to Property law:

The Restatements are also available electronically, usually on Westlaw. See the OSCAR records for the above titles for links to the electronic texts.

See also the SCU Law research guide on Restatements of the Law.

Scholars are also interested in draft versions of the Restatements, to compare to the adopted versions. The law library has many of these drafts. To locate them, try the following advanced search in OSCAR: restatement and property and draft.

American Law Reports

American Law Reports (ALR) started out as a selective case reporter. It succeeded because the court decisions published in ALR were accompanied by detailed discussions (annotations) of those decisions. The opinions themselves --  readily available elsewhere -- are no longer published in ALR, but the annotations remain.

ALR is confusing at first, because it has changed over time and includes a variety of indices. It is now in its sixth series and is divided into ALR (discussions of state law) and ALR Federal (annotations on federal law).

ALR articles/annotations are also available on LexisNexis and Westlaw. 

Several law schools have created research guides about using ALR:

  • First-Year Legal Research, Secondary Sources, ALR (Loyola University of Chicag)
  • Legal Research Process: ALR (University of Texas)

Court Reporters

Federal Court reporters are available on LexisNexis, Westlaw, Bloomberg Law and other databases. Print copies are on the first floor of the law library, beginning with the United States Reports (the official reporter for United States Supreme Court decisions), continuing with the Federal Reporter (United States Court of Appeals decisions) now in its Third Series, and the Federal Supplement (selected United States District Court decisions) now in its Second Series.

California State Reporters are available in the California Collection on the First Floor of the law library (see KFC45 and ff.).

Selected State Reporters are available on the Second Floor (KFA for Alabama through KFW for Wyoming) but most are not currently updated. Use the West Regional Reporters instead to locate state supreme court decisions and some state appellate court decisions. You will find the following Reporters and Digests at KF135 on the first floor of the law library:

Earlier series of these reporters are available in Remote Storage or in microfiche. Cases reported in these reporters are generally available on LexisNexis, Westlaw, and Bllomberg Law.

Periodicals

Recent issues of some law periodicals are shelved on the second floor, above the reference and circulation desks. Law Periodicals will appear in the OSCAR Location column. The journals in Law Periodicals are shelved in alphabetical order, with some variation. The titles of some periodicals have changed over time; shelving order may reflect the current or former name. Call numbers for Law Periodical are K1 - K29.

The following periodicals focus on property law topics:

A few periodicals do have an OSCAR Location of Law Library Stacks. These journals usually focus on a particular topic and are shelved at the Library of Congress call number assigned to that topic.

Most older law journal Issues have been discarded because the Hein Online Law Journal Library provides access to pdf versions of their pages. If you need materials with an OSCAR record that lists Remote Storage. as its location, ask at Information Services or Research Services for a Remote Storage retrieval form,  Law library staff go to our nearby storage facility on weekdays to retrieve requested materials.  Digital copies of many of the journals in Remote Storage are available via Hein Online.
 

Heafey Law Library Research Team