1L Guide on Property

This guide is for One Ls enrolled in 2013-2014 Property Law classes

Court Decisions

Your casebooks provide excerpts from recent and historical property law decisions. If you are interested in reading more from these decisions, here are a few places you can look for them online. The casebook will provide the parties' names, the name of the court, and the date of the decision. Stop by Research Services if you need help using this information to search for the full text of any court opinion.

Camino

Camino courseware is now available to SCU law professors. You can sign on to Camino using your SCU Network ID and password. There is a link at the bottom of law school pages.

Bloomberg Law

All law students should have an individual ID and password for Bloomberg Law. If you have not registered to use Bloomberg Law, please stop by Research Services and ask for assistance.

Real Property is not a listed practice area on Bloomberg Law. However, you can search All Legal Content, more specific content (e.g., Court Opinions, Books & Treatises, News), or use more specific searches (e.g., Citation Search, Docket Search, Legislative Search, News Search) to locate material related to property law.

LexisNexis

All law students should have an individual ID and password for Lexis. If you have not registered to use Lexis, please stop by Research Services and ask for assistance.

In addition to court opinions and legislation, LexisNexis provides a variety of secondary sources about property law, including the contents of treatises such as Thompson on Real Property and Powell on Real Property.

LexisAdvance allows you to search, browse topics, or browse sources. You can enter search terms (a case name, citation, phrase, author, article, or treatise name) in the main search box,  then limit results using the left-hand column (e.g., by jurisdiction or source). Using headings above the search box, you can browse topics or an alphabetical list of sources.

The lawschool version of Lexis also provides courseware, which your professor may use instead of Camino (see the Camino box on this page). If your class has a Lexis page, your professor will tell you how to access it.
 

Westlaw

All law students should have an individual ID and password for Westlaw. If you have not registered to use Westlaw, please stop by Research Services and aks for assistance.

Westlaw allows you to search all content (using, e.g., a case name, citation, phrase, author, article or treatise name) then limit results using categories in the left-hand column or the pull-down menu to the right of the search box.

Two major legal encyclopedias -- AmJur 2nd and CJS -- are available on Westlaw. So are CalJur, Witkin's California Treatises, and Miller & Starr's treatise on California Real Estate.

The lawschool version of Westlaw also provides courseware (TWEN), which your professor may prefer to Camino (see the Camino box on this page). if your class has a TWEN page, your professor will tell you how to access it.

Journal Articles

LexisNexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law include the text of many U.S., Canadian and British law journals. 

The Hein Online database includes libraries of American Bar Association Journals, Bar Journals, Core U.S. Journals, and Most-Cited Law Journals, all in pdf format.

The Social Science Research Network's (SSRN) Legal Scholarship Network (LSN) is a searchable collection of much recent scholarship on a variety of legal issues.

Santa Clara Law's journals and the recent scholarship of several Santa Clara Law professors are now available on our Digital Commons.

The law library also subscribes to a variety of legal periodical indices. Some of these indices link to the full text of articles indexed, but many provide bibliographic information only. Ask for help at Research Services if you need help finding the text of a cited article.

Computer Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI)

CALI.org has dozens of lessons on aspects of Property Law. If you haven't yet registered for CALI access, stop by Research Services to pick up a registration code.

Once you have registered and signed on to CALI, click on Lessons, then select Property Law from the First Year Lesson topics listed. Individual lessons range from Adverse Possession through Water Law. You may select lessons designed to accompany individual property law casebooks or use the Search box for lessons on Easements, the Rule against Perpetuities, etc.

SCU Research Guides

Mabie Law Library staff have prepared several research guides for first-year students.

The How Do I? series explains how to find a book, exam, journal article, etc.

How to Read a Legal Citation explains The Bluebook and California citations, and links to the most recent edition of Locating the Law from the Southern California Association of Law Libraries.

The First-Year Law Student Guide tries to anticipate your questions, provides information helpful in Legal Analysis Research and Writing (LARAW) classes, and includes suggestions for preparing for exams.

This Property Law guide is one of several 1L guides, each for a specific required course in the 1L curriculum. To find these and other Mabie Research Guides, go to the law library home page and click on Legal Research Guides.

Property Law Research Guides from Other Law Schools

Property Law Research Guide (University of Kentucky)

Property and Real Estate Law Research (University of New Mexico)

Research by Subject: Property Law (Boston University)

Other Free Online Resources

PropertyProfBlog (Stephen Clowney, University of Kentucky)

Property Law Legal Research Blog  (National Legal Research Group)

When reviewing for the bar exam, Santa Clara Law students can access baressays.com which provides actual, graded Calilfornia bar exam essays.

Heafey Law Library Research Team