Federal Executive Documents
HeinOnline - U.S. Presidential Library
HeinOnline's U.S. Presidential Library includes such titles as Messages and Papers of the Presidents, Public Papers of the Presidents, CFR Title 3 (Presidents), Weekly Compilation of the Presidential Documents, and other documents relating to U.S. presidents.
GPO - Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary.
National Archives - Executive Orders Disposition Tables Index
Disposition Tables contain information about Executive Orders beginning with those signed by President Franklin D. Roosevelt and are arranged according to Presidential administration and year of signature. These documents are also located in the Federal Register.
UCSC - The American Presidency Project
Contains a huge archive of information relating to American presidents including public papers, presidential documents, party platforms, candidate remarks, statements of policy, election debates, and etc.
The White House
Contains executive orders, presidential memoranda, and proclamations.
Federal Administrative Law Sources
HeinOnline - Federal Register Library
Contains Federal register (v. 1, 1936- ) -- Federal register indexes (v.1, 1936- ) --Code of federal regulations (1938-1983) -- Code of federal regulations, list of sections affected (1960-1980) -- Code of federal regulations, compilation of sections affected - Administrative procedure act (1944-1946) -- Code of emergency federal regulations (1965) -- Code of emergency federal regluations (vol.1, 1965) -- United States Government Manual (also published as the United States Government Organization Manual) (1935-2007) -- Weekly compilation of presidential documents (vol.1, 1965-vol. 42, 2006).
HeinOnline - U.S. Federal Agency Library
This is a complete collection of the official case law of some of the United States most important government institutions.
This site provides access to proposed federal rules and regulations along with submitted public comments. Also includes administrative documents that have been released by agencies during the rulemaking process, including scientific and technical findings. You'll also be able to find adjudications, guidance, and the Unified Agenda and Regulatory Plan. You can search by docket number, document type, date, or keyword.
GPO - Federal Register
The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of federal agencies and organizations. It also includes executive documents such as as orders and other presidential documents. The GPO has this publication available from 1994-onward.
GPO - Code of Federal Regulations
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. The 50 subject matter titles contain one or more individual volumes, which are updated once each calendar year, on a staggered basis. The annual update cycle is as follows: titles 1-16 are revised as of January 1; titles 17-27 are revised as of April 1; titles 28-41 are revised as of July 1; and titles 42-50 are revised as of October 1. Each title is divided into chapters, which usually bear the name of the issuing agency. Each chapter is further subdivided into parts that cover specific regulatory areas. The GPO provides the CFR from 1996-onward.
GPO - eCFR
The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (e-CFR) is a currently updated version of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). It is not an official legal edition of the CFR. The e-CFR is an editorial compilation of CFR material and Federal Register amendments produced by the National Archives and Records Administration's Office of the Federal Register (OFR) and the Government Printing Office. The OFR updates the material in the e-CFR on a daily basis.
A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies
Provides a fairly comprehensive list of federal agencies and departments along with contact information (website address, phone number, email address).
GPO - United States Government Manual
As the official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees. The Manual begins with reprints of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution.
Heafey Law Library Research Team